The eight things meme

I first saw this meme on Jeremiah’s blog, and then on Connie’s blog. It’s amazing how fast information spreads in social media. Well to keep the meme going, here are eight things you didn’t know about me:

1. I’m a natural right-hander but I text/sms with my left. If I try to text with my right hand, I end up as slow as a retard.

2. I started out playing the percussion in the school band. It was so boring until I insisted and got started playing the trumpet. Then I got seduced by the french horn and ended up as a section leader. It has been 8 years since I last touched any of those instruments.

3. In secondary school, the teacher who marked my composition script for the GCE ‘O’ levels preliminaries came and told me in front of the entire class “I read your composition and I nearly fell off my chair. Keep up the good work and you will go far.”

4. I have seven hamsters (!) at home. It was just two originally and one day we noticed the male one humping the female one, and a few months later, out popped five babies.

5. For my first job, I worked in the Government service in a statutory board doing web communications stuff and loved it. I still have fond memories of the place and my ex-colleagues.

6. My favourite country at the moment has gotta be Japan. I was there a few months ago and how can one not be amazed at the culture, the politeness, the scenic beauty and… the food! Oeshii ne.

7. I have fairly high myopia (over 800 degrees each eye). I’m afraid to go for LASIK because I’m convinced that when the laser is zapping my eyes, my eyeballs will move and I’ll go blind.

8. I’m a tech freak and have an insatiable urge to change my mobilephone every six months. Next up, the iPhone. 😀

2 responses to “The eight things meme

  1. oh! that’s true for me too! I’m afraid of Lasik surgery. And I wear colored contacts, so then I’d lose that. I told that to the eye doctor & he said, well after your vision is corrected, then you could still wear blue contacts with no correction…. ummm isn’t that the point – to get rid of the contact lenses?

    Thanks for sharing about you Stanley!

  2. 7 hamsters? !!!

    I like your point number 8! Now the new blackberry is adding to my collection of phones, macs and ipods. sighs..

Leave a comment